From Mental Whirlwind to being Calm and Quiet

Lately, I’ve not been taking care of myself. 

Not in a selfish way, also not in a “I need a spa day” kind of way.

It’s more of an honoring of myself. I’ve been more in my head than in my heart. It’s easy for me to slip into this internal dialogue that never stops. I mostly over trying to be “better.”

Better. That word is hard for me to even type. It’s like just being moment by moment isn’t enough, you need to be better.

That’s why yoga gets me at a deep place. It quiets the mind and you find a place of surrender and acceptance of where you are. You can’t fake being good at postures. There is no suck it up and pretend to be something your not. Your body can only go to where you can go. You can only hear what you are ready to hear.

From training one of my favorite saying is “All will come.” It reminds me that nothing has to be perfect, or fake. It meets you where you are. And it’s wonderful. 

Published by

amykreick

BRCA 2+, Post Bilateral Mastectomy, Post Surgical Menopause, Previvor, Dedicated Yoga Student, Previvor Advocate

Leave a Reply

