8 Limbs of Yoga: Yama

I will be going through the 8 limbs of yoga in the next couple weeks. Focusing on one per day and how they relate to my life both on and of the mat.

The first of the 8 limbs is the Yamas. Yama means your personal ethical standards and integrity. I’ll be honest here, I haven’t always done the right thing.

Sometimes I find myself being selfish and not seeing how my actions effect other people before I act on them. 

In this process of training, I’m going to let the past go and move forward with integrity. I want to take these main thoughts of yoga back into my life and open myself back up to learning. 

It’s easy to think you have things all figured out so you can settle, stop learning, stop growing and just be for awhile. But for today, for the next few weeks, I commit to being a student. 

The Yamas to me can be practiced within yoga by being true to your practice. Learning to work when you have the energy, push when you need to, and pull back when you need a break. It’s being authentic to yourself and accepting where you fail and where you thrive. 

Off your mat, the personal integrity is much more interactive with the people in your life and the change that you can affect every day by just being a good person. 

I’m looking to the next few weeks with a focus on these yoga values. I have good things in the works, that starts with humbling myself and letting myself be a student of yoga first, teacher second. 


Published by


BRCA 2+, Post Bilateral Mastectomy, Post Surgical Menopause, Previvor, Dedicated Yoga Student, Previvor Advocate

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s