Joy and Mental Health 

I’ve been thinking a lot about what gives me joy and decided (with some others wanting life changes) to do three things daily that bring me joy. I want to revamp my mental health and make healing a priority in my life.

The first thing that brings me joy that I’m going to do daily is reading. I love disappearing into a good book. So daily, I commit to reading at least a chapter in a book. A real book, with pages and stories and suspense. I started my first one today and couldn’t put it down so I’m in two chapters so far. Already I feel better. Excited to see what comes next.

The second thing I’m doing is this. Writing. I don’t know why it makes me feel better but it does.  Getting those feelings out and on virtual paper helps me put them in order. Some days might be happy, some days might be sad. But it’s real and it’s me.

The third thing is yoga. I’m headed to teach tonight and am going early to get my own practice in. I love how I feel after, calm and centered. Like my mind clears and my body feels open and ready to take on whatever comes my way.

Thinking about creating joy shouldn’t be an afterthought. It should be a daily practice. I can create joy no matter what is going on in my life by just taking a little time to create a space where my heart can be renewed. 

 

Published by

amykreick

BRCA 2+, Post Bilateral Mastectomy, Post Surgical Menopause, Previvor, Dedicated Yoga Student, Previvor Advocate

Leave a Reply

