Finding my strength 

Slowly I am finding my strength again. My confidence slowly coming back after years of not being enough. 

But I am enough. I’m strong, smart and resilient. No matter what may come, I know I can handle it.

Right now, my focus needs to move off what I had, or what I thought I had and moving into what could be. Me again, being strong, being happy. Being okay in my own skin. 

No longer will I be put in the position of trying so hard that I crack under the pressure. I know God made me for so much more. That light at the end of the tunnel is beginning to come into view. It’s dim, but I see it.

I can feel my heart again. Now it beats for me and my daughter. The only thing that ever was real, is still there. What I’ve lost was an illusion as I looked to the best, the bright side. Now I can see the darkness that was always there. A darkness I didn’t deserve. I didn’t earn that, I didn’t want to see it, but it was always there.

So I look to the light of the future. Like the caged bird I will fly free and sing again. I haven’t lost my voice, I just forgot how powerful it was. 

I’m okay. I’m okay today and I’ll be okay tomorrow. Whatever may come, I can handle it.  

 

Published by

amykreick

BRCA 2+, Post Bilateral Mastectomy, Post Surgical Menopause, Previvor, Dedicated Yoga Student, Previvor Advocate

One thought on “Finding my strength ”

Leave a Reply

