Breakthroughs 

I sit just out of a powerful lead class by Stephanie (my teacher, guru, life mentor – whatever you want to call it, she’s mine) 

Headstands are such a beautiful metaphor for life aren’t they? Supported headstands are a super intimate thing for me. You have to trust, but you are held in this beautiful position while using every muscle you have to try to hold there. 

On day 3, I’m seeing progress. I feel the strength. I can feel that progress of needing her less. But she can tell when it’s hard and steps in with more support. That’s why I do, and always will go to Teacher Training. It’s those breakthroughs. Learning what you thought was impossible and working through it. And finding its not only possible, you are doing it and growing both physically and emotionally. 

  Now I sit under a tree, doing what I love best, writing about it. Ashtanga is life changing. It’s hard, but every time you get closer to your goal. Closer to the best version of yourself and learning what is inside.
The start of this week I decided my spirit animal (long story, I’ll post a picture later) was a sea turtle. Today, I felt like a lion. Strong and fierce. Ready to take on anything life throws at me.

Published by

amykreick

BRCA 2+, Post Bilateral Mastectomy, Post Surgical Menopause, Previvor, Dedicated Yoga Student, Previvor Advocate

Leave a Reply

