The beauty in slowing down

I haven’t had much slowing down after surgery until right this second. I’m working very hard on things I am super passionate about and that keeps me going.

I am excited about life, ready to go, work hard all in. And my body says, slow down. The more I do the more pain I’m in. The faster I go the more I hurt. And really the slower I go, the faster I will heal. 

So now I take an hour to myself. And prepare to teach a yin class for an hour, more of what I need. Sometimes what you need is right there when you need it. I just wish I took it before I caused myself to need it.

  
Slowing down has made me think about why I teach yoga. What teaching is to me personally and what I hope to accomplish in my classes.

I want to teach because I believe yoga can be wonderful for the mind and body. And also can relax the spirit and help bring things into focus.

My favorite classss by my favorite teachers are always because the class fits them. Only they can teach it that way. I hope that students of my classes feel the class. I hope they slow down and feel something more than the physical during the class. 

This is what yoga has given me, that slowing down of the mind and I hope to share that with my classes. 

I am looking forward to evolving as both a teacher and a student and am loving the slow process that is life. 

Published by

amykreick

BRCA 2+, Post Bilateral Mastectomy, Post Surgical Menopause, Previvor, Dedicated Yoga Student, Previvor Advocate

Leave a Reply

