My story will be a Comedy

I heard something in the last few weeks that made me think.

It was along the lines of this: “Your life story can be a comedy or a tragedy. It depends on how much you choose to laugh.” 

So many things strike me about this story idea. It is how you tell your story. How you share that story and become a character in someone else’s story. I want to be a positive story 

I have lived a lot of my life, my story, as a tragic story. I try to take every positive spin, but if I had to pick one or the other, I know I’ve been “woe is me” more than I care to admit.  Sometimes the bad things just keep hitting and you feel like you never can get out of it. I’ve been there. Too many times. Plans going horribly wrong. 

I’m not talking about spraining my ankle the day before a triathlon (happened) or my third bout of chicken pox (yep, that too) or a Christmas Root Canal… I could go on but this is plenty. I’m talking loosing my mom, having a gene, years later I come to terms with removing my breasts and bang, I get misdiagnosed with cancer a week before I leave for the surgery. 

This is the times. It’s probably me, some how my fault. Or at least I rarely handle these stresses in the best manor. 

But thinking of my story this way. You almost have to laugh. And I will more because I haven’t enough. I just want to spend the rest of my days laughing at the bad. “Could only happen to me,” I’ll say. But my story is a comedy. It’s going to be fun to be a part of because I’ll always be the first to jump in* and come up laughing. 

*side story, in Mexico I was with a group, mostly couples, in a jungle. Side note: where they filmed predator.  Anyways, there was a rope swing-I headed right over. Knee surgeries be damned. You are only in this moment once. I jumped. Then all the males where up removing shirts. Ready now. 😆 my second jump left a huge bruise. But I came up laughing. Smiling from ear to ear. My story will be a comedy. Seeing the video, it was much less intimidating than it looked! And it is definitely comedic. 

Pain will always be part of life. We can try to avoid it, ignore it, or numb it. Maybe, maybe, we laugh at the absurdity of it and enjoy every moment. 

  

 

Published by

amykreick

BRCA 2+, Post Bilateral Mastectomy, Post Surgical Menopause, Previvor, Dedicated Yoga Student, Previvor Advocate

Leave a Reply

