Fight

This came up on my newsfeed today from #fightlikeagirl and it was such a good reminder for me so I wanted to pass it along.

  
Sometimes I get lost in mine. It all shaped me, but at times, it limits me. Only a very few people know the agony of the decisions I had to make. But what it reminds me is that every person has had a struggle. All different. No one can compare to another’s.

The key is to look beyond the struggle and find a contentment. It can be a scar or a gift. A gift that has shaped you. You can close it up as pain, or open it up and give that scar as love and acceptance for others.

When I’m in yoga I can feel my scars as a tight area. A physical manifestation of pain I’ve been through and a protective bind I hold. I can pretty much feel this tightening around my heart at all times. 

Most of the time, I’m so used to it that it feels normal. But when I focus on it, it’s pain. It physically hurts. 

Today I am going to focus on turning my pain into love. “Opening the heart” as they say in yoga speak but for me it’s there. A closed off, hurt, painful heart. 

What hurts your heart? What can you do to turn it into love and acceptance? 

Published by

amykreick

BRCA 2+, Post Bilateral Mastectomy, Post Surgical Menopause, Previvor, Dedicated Yoga Student, Previvor Advocate

Leave a Reply

