Two steps forward, giant fall backwards 

I’m so angry at myself. Last night I fell and hurt my right knee, not the surgery knee because, well that’s just how it goes for me.

I hurt my MCL, that’s the inside ligament. I might have also done some meniscus damage. I see Ortho next week.

But it’s so frustrating to have a useless injury. It’s depressing, I’m angry. I am in a lot of pain. But more than all that, I’m sidelined again. It’s like starting over. I was really excelling at yoga, huge breakthroughs and now here I am again. Icing, resting. I just am so tired of hurting.  It feels like it’s always something.

Trying to find some bright sides;

1. I’ll understand the workings of the knee even better.

2. This will make me a better teacher. Knee injuries are very common. Being understanding to physical limits is a very important part of teaching.

3. I can spend some time deep in memorization. I need to do it, all the more reason.

4. I can build it back because I already know the yoga tools to do it.

Injuries are common and never fun. But just writing positives has turned my woe is me feelings around. I’ll come back from this. Setbacks aren’t forever. Just one more speed bump on life’s road to get me to slow down and appreciate what really matters. 

Published by

amykreick

BRCA 2+, Post Bilateral Mastectomy, Post Surgical Menopause, Previvor, Dedicated Yoga Student, Previvor Advocate

Leave a Reply

