The difference between “Can’t” and “Won’t”

A lot of people tell me they “can’t” do yoga.  I don’t fault them, don’t worry, yoga is HARD.  But just about everyone can do yoga.  They just won’t.

Consider this for a minute.  Can you touch your toes when you are sitting with strait legs?  Do you know most people taking any given yoga class can’t either?  But they are there, they show up.  And I’ve seen it, heck, I’ve done it more times than I can count.  Saying, “I can’t do this posture, that is just impossible.”  But I keep showing up and amazingly, I do every single thing I have ever said I couldn’t do.

For most people it’s a flexibility problem.  Even if you go to the gym, you probably are strong but missing flexibility.  Health is both.  It’s a balance between them.  You can run every day, lift three times a week.  But if your spine is compacted, your hamstrings are tight or you just feel sore or tired – you are missing something.  Yoga will help.  You will feel better, you just have to show up.

They say “all will come.”  They say “someday.” We hear this when they are asking us to do things that sound impossible.  But if you want something, if you want to get rid of the can’t and the won’t – you have to show up.  And it will come.  Breakthroughs don’t happen every day in yoga but when they do, it’s the best feeling in the world because you showed up, you practiced and practice and someday, yes, it will come.

First step, just get your feet on your mat.  All will come.

2341684301_b549b8c91c_b

That being said, I think I better get back to those daily headstands…..

Published by

amykreick

BRCA 2+, Post Bilateral Mastectomy, Post Surgical Menopause, Previvor, Dedicated Yoga Student, Previvor Advocate

Leave a Reply

