LASIK 

The summer before middle school I got glasses. I remember coming home with my new glasses and realizing I could see the leaves on the trees. It was amazing. From then on my eyes have gotten worse. I would show off my glasses to people and it was always the worst vision in the room.

I’ve been in contacts since 7th grade. The usual problems everyone has with them. I’ve had eye infections, they float around (especially distracting in my savasana-my favorite posture.) My vision was around 20/600. I couldn’t see the big E.

On Monday, I got LASIK. I was nervous but had complete denial that it would work. And now? I can see! No contacts, no glasses. 

I went to Sharpe Vision in Bellevue and couldn’t be happier with my experience. The first thing they do is give you something to relax. Eye surgery is not a pleasant idea so I was very happy to have a relaxer. I won’t go into detail but it wasn’t as bad as I thought. I sat up after and could instantly see. The crazy part for me was leaving my glasses with them to donate.  After almost 30 years to leave them behind was a dream. 

I won’t sugar coat after surgery, it sucked. I was in horrible pain, eyes  pouring, couldn’t open them. Crying I think but they were watering so much I couldn’t tell. 5 hours after surgery with the help of some sleeping pills I fell asleep. 

Tuesday morning I woke up with 20/15 vision. It’s not perfect yet. It takes a few weeks to settle down. I still can’t get over that I am driving. That I can see the clock when I wake up. That I’m not putting in and taking out contacts. 

Vision is such a gift. I can’t wait to get back to yoga and close my eyes, and not think about my contacts. Blinking around to get them to settle.  There are very few things I can’t do and Hot Yoga is one of them.  

 
A week without yoga? A lifetime of vision? Worth it. 🙂  I love it, I can’t believe more people don’t do it. The feeling is incredible. My doctor was great. I still can’t believe I can see. A life change in 15 minutes. I know there is so much more to see and I can’t wait to embrace this gift.

Published by

amykreick

BRCA 2+, Post Bilateral Mastectomy, Post Surgical Menopause, Previvor, Dedicated Yoga Student, Previvor Advocate

Leave a Reply

