Yin – Shoulder Update

I went to Yin tonight and couldn’t relax.  I was so tense, at first, I couldn’t even do Corpse Pose (Savasana for those of you learning Sanskrit with me.)  My shoulder wouldn’t come to the mat, my arm needing to be almost perpendicular to my side.

I was sweating like crazy, my eyes burned, clothes that are not my usual hot room attire soaked.  I was miserable almost the whole class.

But around the half way mark I noticed my shoulder wasn’t causing me as much pain.  I was supporting myself on it with no pain.  There was the occasional twinge but nothing like I have felt for the last week in a half.  And it reminds me why I am doing this, why I love this.  It heals.  The ride home I noticed I could pull my arm behind me to grab my seat belt – something I haven;t done with my left arm since it happened.

That’s the thing about heat, maybe even the sweat.  It works out those tight muscles and relaxes them.  I’m sure that I am far from healed.  I can already feel it tightening as I type.  But I will continue going and it will heal my shoulder.  Just as it has my knee.  My ankle.  My chest.  My soul.  So many benefits.  My handstand career might be on hold but I will get back there.  (I don’t say headstand because I am pretty confident I could do one right now.)  Just one hour in the hot room – melts everything away.

Published by

amykreick

BRCA 2+, Post Bilateral Mastectomy, Post Surgical Menopause, Previvor, Dedicated Yoga Student, Previvor Advocate

Leave a Reply

