Silent Yoga

Tonight was the first ever “Silent Yoga”  I don’t know where to start to describe this class.  It was amazing.  Unlike anything I have experienced in yoga so far.  In the pose, I knew what to do.  Hours and hours of practice had prepared me.

Maybe I should back up and say, I am definitely a silence is golden type and in the class in a meditative place where it is just me in my head.  No other sounds, no distractions.  Just me.  Yet, I wasn’t alone.  The breath around me, it breaths life into your poses, the energy lifted me.

In the silence, everything was focused on the positions. The things I know the teachers say, daily, reverberated in my head.  Somehow, that made me put it all into action.  In the silence, I wanted to settle into the pose.  Hold it just a little longer and find that extra space.  I’m not sure I can accurately describe the difference.  I just know I want more.

When there is no music, you feel the room.  The people in the room become one, a flowing together.  I bet it was a beautiful thing.  Moving together, breathing together for an hour, in the silence in a hot room.  It was intimate, we shared something in there.  And I know more than just myself came out viewing our practice differently.

I hope there is another class.  I hope this becomes a thing.  And mostly I hope that the feeling, the love and peace we felt this evening in that place, breathing and moving together, happens again and again.  Transformation, together.

silence-quotes-hd-wallpaper-23

Published by

amykreick

BRCA 2+, Post Bilateral Mastectomy, Post Surgical Menopause, Previvor, Dedicated Yoga Student, Previvor Advocate

Leave a Reply

