Vinyasa

18305_10153070968156220_8911698205634613127_nIn January this year, just 8 short months ago I said the words here, “Maybe Vinyasa just isn’t for me.” So that is really funny.  Because if you don’t know, I have spent a month doing two classes, mostly Fusion but I also took a Power class and I have come to realize that Vinyasa is one of the easier classes.  My chest is strong now and I can do most of the flow, but my core is so much stronger it doesn’t make a difference.  My core, chest, legs, back, arms – everything, is so much stronger than it was before.

I can’t recognize the yoga person I have become.  I still feel so new but the strength I am gaining in such a short time is crazy.

The other big difference is when you go as often as I do, you really miss it on the days you don’t go.  Even two days in a row makes that third day without yoga seem like it is missing something.

I couldn’t stop now if I wanted to, I love the way I feel and love the person yoga is changing me into. Thank you to Jessie today for guiding my Vinyasa class.  When you are new, you hear a lot about Jessie.  The thing I heard the most that stuck with me was the word “gentle.”  It perfectly describes her classes and her attitude.  She exudes gentleness. From Vinyasa feeling difficult to a gentle and relaxing class today, it didn’t feel like work, it felt like a relaxing end to a hard week of classes.

Fusion is like a kick in the pants.  I always feel the most exhausted after Fusion.  Doing Fusion this last month has made me strong, I can feel the difference in my poses and in my body.  Fusion is where the yoga body comes from, I am convinced.

Power this week was the scariest class to take.  I was really thinking I would never take the class without feeling real bad about that prospect.  Then Tandi just had to make a challenge this week and I agreed without thinking about it.  I had nothing better to do so I went to Power.  YIKES, but I loved it!  My shoulders burned, my stomach ached but I pushed through and felt awesome.  That exhilaration of going to that next level.  Standing side by side with my teachers, seeing the poses I can still strive for some day and the humbleness of knowing how far I have come and at the same time how far I still have to go.  I can’t describe the empowerment of doing things you thought impossible of yourself.  It’s a boost to your life in every way.  I needed that Power class more than anyone knew that day and I can’t wait for the next one!

One of the best things I heard this month was from a friend, Cherisa, who said, “You know you’ve put the hours in!”  You know what?  I have put hours in, and it shows.  🙂  Pushing on. 

Published by

amykreick

BRCA 2+, Post Bilateral Mastectomy, Post Surgical Menopause, Previvor, Dedicated Yoga Student, Previvor Advocate

Leave a Reply

