willPower – A different kind of yoga all together

Once a month at my yoga studio, beYOUtiful Hot Yoga, they have this morning Saturday class.  Last month, I stumbled on this class while I was trying to go every day.  It’s at 9:30am (later than Hatha at 8am and I’m a night owl so it sounded nicer on a Saturday)  Now I went in without a clue what it was however, I was pleasantly surprised that is is the exact thing I needed.

I have very weak lower body joints.  Hips, knees and ankles specifically.  willPower is like a combination of the following:

  • Yoga – The part of it that is yoga is pretty minimal.  Mostly breathing and some familiar poses.  However, it is not heated, not on a mat and definitely not stretching or slow.
  • Strength – Think lunges and squats.  Pretty much in every different way that you can think of over and over and over until your thighs and hips burn.
  • Cardio – Take all those lunges and squats and do them fast for 40 minutes.  Yep, it’s tough – an aerobic work out.
  • Therapy – Throw in a little visualization and what I will call specific thought focus that integrates into the class.

It is pretty unique.  The biggest thing you notice is how your hips and thighs hurt after – for days.  I really like that soreness – I know I worked hard and it’s paying off.

The last thing about it – possibly the best thing, after we sit and do some work on our feet.  Massaging, stretching.  I wish I took more time to massage my feet – it is heavenly, especially after a hard week of yoga.

If you have been thinking about yoga – it is a fun place to try something different.  The only problem?  You have to catch it!  Once a month – look for the first Saturday.  For an amazing work out, a good time and thighs that hurt for days!

Published by

amykreick

BRCA 2+, Post Bilateral Mastectomy, Post Surgical Menopause, Previvor, Dedicated Yoga Student, Previvor Advocate

Leave a Reply

