The 30 Day Yoga Challenge

I did 20 days of Yoga in a row this month.  I have to say, I learned a very valuable lesson.  Water, water and more water.

So here’s what happened.  About 18 days in, I started having body cramps all over.  It wasn’t fun.  So here’s what I learned for the 30 day challenge starting this Friday at beYOUtiful Hot Yoga.

1. Drink more water.  I am going to have at least two bottles each day and three on Hatha days.

2. Electrolytes.  I’ll add in a bottle of electrolytes each day and decrease 1 Diet Pepsi.  It’s not bad, I only have two a day, but starting today, down to one.  Yikes!  Now that will be the hardest part of the 30 days.  The yoga is the easy part.

3. Use Yin as needed to recover but remind myself it isn’t recovery, it isn’t rest.  It is hard work on the muscles and I’ll appreciate those days with enough water.

4. Doing other things – mainly swimming and biking, will also need extra water.  February is going to be all about that H2O.

Who else is in for February 30 days?  Any tips you can share?

I think saying you are going to do something like that is one thing, and doing it another.  But if you don’t prepare, listen to your body and hydrate, you might not be doing your body good.  And remember, anyone can do anything for 30 days.  It’s just a month, life is long, make the the most of it!

Published by

amykreick

BRCA 2+, Post Bilateral Mastectomy, Post Surgical Menopause, Previvor, Dedicated Yoga Student, Previvor Advocate

Leave a Reply

