Running, Yoga & Knitting – what they share

I’ve been down, seated that is, since knee surgery. And really getting pretty “poor me” about things. It’s fairly easy for me to do and comes on rapidly. What usually is my saving grace? Getting my feet back on the ground and running, or doing yoga when running was failing me. Now, I feel resigned to knitting. But I have to think, it is all the same thing that I am needing.

1. Repetition – Doing the same thing over and over again is relaxing. It brings me calmness to have order, to know what has passed and what is now and what is next. For me, it is good for my mood. It keeps me grounded in the now.

2. Pace – you have to control your pace, not too fast or you can make a mistake, too slow, you aren’t pushing yourself hard enough and making progress.

3. Breath – keep your breath and the repetition sinks into the breath. It slows your breathing, calming, relaxing.

Why do I need these things so much? I don’t know but when I don’t have them, I notice a difference. I am agitated, frustrated, bursting at the seams and with no outlet, it leaves me feeling sorry for myself for the things I can’t do. This is temporary, I was reminded today. I was next to someone in a chair, permanently. If that doesn’t remind you to shut up about your own pains and focus on what you can do, I don’t know what does.

Tomorrow I will work out on a schedule, same time, every day. I will run again, because I can. I will do yoga again (very soon) because I can. And for now I will knit, because I want a purse.

Published by

amykreick

BRCA 2+, Post Bilateral Mastectomy, Post Surgical Menopause, Previvor, Dedicated Yoga Student, Previvor Advocate

Leave a Reply

