Hot Yoga is getting HOT

I am loving my hot yoga and it’s only been three times!  Today I took Hot Hatha with Meg and it was incredible.  I pushed myself harder and I feel soft and fresh, relaxed and able to take on whatever comes my way.  I feel like I look like this:

Image

Nothing dripping, tall and strong.  But damn those mirrors, I know I don’t.  Although today I discovered these little towels that line up with your mat, Yogitoes.  It makes it so much easier, no slipping and beYOUtiful Hot Yoga has them for $60.  If you go try it out and feel yourself slipping on the massive buckets of sweat you are pouring out like I am, try one for $3 to rent.  It makes a huge difference.

But back to the difference in me.  I feel like I am standing taller, getting a little more flexibility and starting to push myself.  After only three times!  What a difference.  I can lay in corpse for a while and not let my mind run.  I’m starting to get the breath, the relaxation.  Today I was shaking after class.  I’m not sure if it is so intense that I was shaking or the shock to the cold air.  I don’t know but it was a good feeling.  Accomplished.  I am definitely better at the standing on one leg thing – tree pose today felt like a success.  It’s amazing how things that feel so hard, you can feel the small changes and successes almost immediately.  I am getting stronger, taller and calmer.  Can’t beat that! 

The funny thing is, day 2 felt really hard.  That moment of thinking, what do I think I am doing here?  I’m not one of these 20 something bendy girls!  But I pushed past, went again and didn’t give up.  I continue to have critics, but I don’t listen to them.  I am feeling this, maybe pushing past the hard part is what makes it worth it.  What makes anything worth it.  That’s what we were told as kids right?  Where is that in is, where did it go.  Anything worth having is worth working for.  I want what they have so I press on.

Play on Team Anyone, what are you doing to push yourself today?  What new things do you want to try and what in the world is stopping you?  Go for it, push through the hard parts and the critics, you never know what you will find.

Published by

amykreick

BRCA 2+, Post Bilateral Mastectomy, Post Surgical Menopause, Previvor, Dedicated Yoga Student, Previvor Advocate

Leave a Reply

