Yoga

Do you ever feel like what you are doing is crazy? Like you have all the confidence in the world you can do whatever you set your mind to and then you try it. Put yourself out there. Then yikes! Breaks!

I am doing that. Actually, I do it a lot. So I’ve been thinking with little to no Yoga experience it would be awesome to be a yoga instructor with the goal of helping people through physical healing. Cancer, surgical, I would love to learn some mastectomy and menopausal focused healing.

I’m not some yoga nut, in fact I’m a stressed out emotional sometimes struggling with anxiety and depression. I’m not naturally thin or physically at my peak, I’m a pretty slow athlete who’s joints are breaking down. I’m not in my 20’s, I’m in fact
barely staying in my 30’s. I’m not coordinated or flexible and definitely never been described as serene.

I did a class last week with the gusto of anything new. Then I had a stressful weekend and was ready to start fresh today and try “warm yoga.” I figure, I’m in enough shape, I’m fairly flexible. What I learned was the first of many lessons in this journey.

20140609-193544-70544772.jpg

I knew it would be intimidating. They don’t have my size in there I’m sure. The girls are all in such amazing shape. They seem happy and go with the flow. I’ve learned that if someone has what you want, you can’t dream it. You have to do what they do.

Day 1, I felt so relaxed and flowing afterwords. Today, I felt like a cross between a baby giraffe and an elephant standing on one foot with one in the air behind me with nothing but a block holding me up. But, I want what they have. I could give up, I’ve already had people mock me for this idea. What in the world makes me think I can become a yoga instructor in my state?

Well, let’s look at the evidence:
-I wanted to be a runner, a little over a year after having a double mastectomy, I fulfilled a dream and got my Tiffany’s necklace at the end of the Nike Women’s Marathon.
-I wanted to run Ragnars, I ended up running 13. So far, I won’t give up.
-After saying because of my chest I could never bike and run. I’ve done three triathlons and am not giving that up either.

That being said, I don’t know where this will take me but my goal and dream doesn’t know can’t. Doesn’t understand adversity. Doesn’t listen to the critics. I know thinking about what’s for dinner that night and falling isn’t how it’s “supposed” to be. But I’ll get there.

Are you trying through adversity? Do you quit when it gets hard? Or when you feel stupid for trying? I can do this, so can you. What do you want to do? What are you waiting for?

Published by

amykreick

BRCA 2+, Post Bilateral Mastectomy, Post Surgical Menopause, Previvor, Dedicated Yoga Student, Previvor Advocate

One thought on “Yoga”

  1. I think that it’s a fabulous idea. Like you, I am not the willowy bendy type most people imagine when they think about yoga, but there came a point that I was so stressed out from cancer and BRCA that I threw myself into yoga. Everyone was surprised, but it did me a world of good. Yoga instructors come in all shapes and sizes, and there are so many kinds of yoga; I’m sure you’ll find your niche if you just keep at it. 90% of yoga is just showing up and DOING IT.

    Like

Leave a Reply

